Javascript is not activated in your browser. This website needs javascript activated to work properly.
You are here

University Board

The University’s highest decision-making body
The University Board's is to “supervise all matters concerning the higher education institution and shall be responsible for the performance of its duties”, according to the Higher Education Act, chapter 2 section 2.

The University Board is made up of the Vice-Chancellor, eight community representatives appointed by the Government, of which one is Chair of the Board, three members of the academic staff and three students.

The members are appointed for three years, except for the student representatives, who are appointed for one year. The current term of office for the community representatives and academic staff representatives is 1 May 2017–30 April 2020. The student representatives sit from 1 July to 30 June.

The members of the University Board in front of the Main University Building
The University Board

University Board members


  • Jonas Hafstr?m,?Ambassador

University Vice-Chancellor

  • Professor Torbj?rn von Schantz

Community representatives

  • Anna Stellinger (Vice Chairperson), Director-General National Board of Trade
  • Annika Winsth, Chief Financial Officer, Nordea
  • Gunnar Wetterberg, Author
  • Ingrid Bengtsson-Rijavec, Chief Financial Officer, Malm? University
  • Jens Oddershede, Professor Syddansk University
  • Wanja Lundby-Wedin, First Vice Chairperson Church of Sweden
  • Per Arfvidsson,?Executive Vice President & Head of Group Operations, Lantm?nnen

Academic staff representatives

  • Docent Ann-Katrin B?cklund, Faculty of Social Sciences
  • Professor Anne L’Huillier, Faculty of Engineering
  • Professor Tommy Andersson, Faculty of Medicine

Student representatives

  • Linn Sv?rd
  • Robin Bernst?hle
  • Sara Thiringer


  • Anna ?kesson, Policy Officer, Office of the Vice-Chancellor
Page Manager:

Contact information

Anna ?kesson, Policy Officer
anna [dot] akesson [at] rektor [dot] lu [dot] se
+46 (0)46?222 9435

To contact?Jonas Hafstr?m, please email:

Gerd Hawaleska, Secretary
gerd [dot] hawaleska [at] rektor [dot] lu [dot] se
+46 (0)46 222 3895
+46 (0)706 19 3895


Board meetings


Friday 15 February
Friday 26 April
Monday 17Tuesday 18 June
Tuesday 24 September
Wednesday 23 October
Friday 13 December